Library Databases

The Library's Online Databases are a collection of subscription databases provided by the Pickens County Library System and the State Library's Discus Project. You can access the databases for free from the Library or from home. To utilize any of these services, you simply need to provide your library card number and PIN. Feel free to call the reference desk at 850-7077 for information or help to log-in. At the Library, a reference librarian will be glad to show you search tips and to help you get started on your research.

Ancestry Library Edition

AncestryLibrary.com is an online, advanced genealogy resource. It also includes information about births, marriages, death notices, immigration records, complete census records (1790-1940) and much more. AncestryLibrary.com is available on all of our public internet computers at any Pickens County Library branch, and on any device connected to our wireless internet. This database cannot be accessed from home.

Heritage Quest

Heritage Quest is an online genealogy research database ready for you to start you own genealogy search from the comfort of your home.

Morning Star

Morning Star is an investment research center, providing current financial and market information.

NewsBank

NewsBank provides access to a variety of newspaper articles, including local papers such as the Easley Progress and the Pickens Sentinel.

DISCUS

DISCUS gives our patrons free online access to an excellent group of library resources. Find full text magazine and newspaper articles, reference materials, student and teacher resources, health and business resources, and much more. DISCUS is coordinated by the South Carolina State Library in cooperation with the Pickens County Library System and other libraries throughout the state.

Auto Repair Reference Center

Provided by EBSCO, this site offers repair information on many different makes and models of car, as well as many different years.

Bloom's Literature

Bloom’s Literature provides access to thousands of scholarly essays on different authors and works of literature. It includes biographies of famous authors as well as synopses of famous works of literature.

BrainPOP Jr.

BrainPOP Jr. provides animated content, designed to provide an engaging introduction to different educational topics.  This database supports classroom and individual instruction. It also includes a variety of free educational games.

Britannica Online

This Britannica package includes three online encyclopedias for students and adults: Encyclopaedia Britannica (advanced-level content for older students and adults), Elementary Encyclopedia (introductory -level content for students 6-10 yrs), and Compton's Encyclopedia. Elementary Encyclopedia and Compton’s Encyclopedia are available by selecting “Jump to Britannica Kids” on the main Britannica page.

Britannica Learning Zone

A product of Britannica, this site is full of activity based learning specifically designed for Pre-K through 2nd grade. This site provides both learning tools and educational games.

Consumer Health Complete

Provided by EBSCO, provides consumers with medical information, including fact sheets, news, and prescription drug information.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference provides access to a variety of full-text reference sources, including encyclopedias, biographies, and dictionaries.

CultureGrams

CultureGrams provides detailed information on world countries and US states, including cultural and historical information.

Gale PowerSearch

Access magazine and journal articles needed for school and academic research. Articles cover health, legal, business and entertainment subjects. This group also includes databases for elementary, middle, and high school students.

Escolar

Britannica’s Spanish language encyclopedia database.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

This database provides information on thousands of different jobs, including career advice on topics such as résumés and interviewing.

Learning Express Library

An innovative, web-based learning solution that provides patrons, from elementary students to adult learners, with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test-preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. Over 770 online practice tests and interactive skill-building tutorials are available, along with more than 130 e-book titles developed by expert academic and industry professionals.

NoveList Plus & NoveList Plus k-8

Products of EBSCO, these databases provide information on published books, including reading suggestions and read-alikes. An excellent resource for finding new books to read. NoveList Plus K-8 focuses specifically on titles for younger readers.

Points of View Reference Center

This database provides information on a variety of current events and issues, offering information from a variety of viewpoints. This is a great starting point for anyone looking for information on a particular hot button subject, or for students looking for critical material on current issues.

World Data Analyst

A product of Britannica, this database provides snapshots of countries around the world, with the option to create comparisons of different countries.

EBSCOhost Research Databases

Search over 30 research databases on a variety of subjects from history to nursing.